Using Node cronjobs to replace Heroku worker dynos

“Time keeps on slipping, slippin…into the future.”  – Steve Miller Band

Hopscotch.fm relies on data that is pulled in from several music related services.  I have created multiple tasks each of which can be run from the command line, like:

node run manualrun getShows sf

This will get the shows for San Francisco. On Heroku, I was using the Scheduler to automatically run this periodically. All good so far.

The Problem

The solution worked great up until I started needing several of these workers, to get shows, to get artist metadata, to get artist songs, cleanup, and more.  Easy enough I thought.  I just added more tasks to the Heroku Scheduler. Except there is a limit to the free tier on Heroku…

The Surprise (the Heroku bill!)

My Heroku bill was over $70!  How did this happen??  Turns out I had exceeded the free monthly hours with all the worker dynos I had been spinning up.  So I needed a solution quick.  I host hopscotch.fm on nodejitsu so I figured why not just use that.

The Solution (cron!)

Enter node-cron. If you’ve ever used Linux/UNIX cron jobs, it’s nearly identical.  The syntax for dates is the same.  All you need to do is specify the function to run.  Here is a cron job in file cronjobs.js that crunches radio stations for a city:

var cronJob = require('cron').CronJob;
var cruncher = require('./cruncher); // internal class that does the crunching
var jobMetroRadio = new cronJob('00 05 00 * * 1-7', (function() {
  console.log('Starting crunching shows.');
  return cruncher.crunchShows(function() {
    return console.log('Finished crunching shows.');
  });
}), (function() {}), true, time.tzset("America/Los_Angeles"));

Then in app.js I just:

require('./cronjobs');

And lastly add these two packages to package.json and install them

cron  // add to package.json
time  // add to package.json
npm install

The Result
I’ve moved all of the tasks over from Heroku Scheduler onto the nodejitsu deployment and everything is running smoothly. Hooray for cron!

One thought on “Using Node cronjobs to replace Heroku worker dynos

Leave a Reply

